top of page

Getting there

Flight: nearest airport is Krabi (KBV). Various airlines fly to Krabi several times a day from Bangkok, flight time approx. 1:20, transfer to Koh Lanta approx. 2-2.5 hours depending on the location of the accommodation. International services to Krabi have been suspended during the pandemic but are slowly coming back.​ Another option is to travel via Phuket (HKT). The transfer by minivan takes about 5 hours, alternatively by speedboat via PhiPhi (about 3 hours). All transfers can be arranged by the accommodation providers or by us if requested.

Internet

Internet coverage in Thailand is very good, both via cellular and fiber optics. We recommend purchasing a Thai SIM on arrival, these are very inexpensive.

​Accomodation

From budget to luxury you can find everything, we recommend the following accommodations. Talk to us, we will help you. Our selection:

Hotels:

Isara

Laguna Beach

Pearl Beach

chada

Hostel:

Bubu Lanta

Apartments:

Villa Lila

Mango Houses

Koh Lanta

Koh Lanta is located in the Andaman Sea. The island is rightly considered one of the most beautiful in Thailand. Koh Lanta consists of two islands (Koh Lanta Noi and Koh Lanta Yai) which have been connected by a bridge for several years (previously ferry connection). Lanta Noi is relatively sparsely populated and has little tourist infrastructure; When people talk about Koh Lanta, they usually mean Koh Lanta Yai.

The island is about 21.5 km long and about 5.5 km wide. The population fluctuates around 25,000 depending on the season. The west side of the island, where most of the tourist infrastructure is located, is characterized by fantastic beaches that are rightly considered to be among the most beautiful in Thailand.

 

On the east side of the island are mangrove swamps and the village of Old Town, originally founded by Chinese traders, on an ancient sea trade route. There is also a Chao Ley sea gypsy community in the south of the island. Koh Lanta is a small religious melting pot, Buddhism, Islam, Thai-Chinese and Chao Ley coexist peacefully.

 

In the last 20 years, a very good tourist infrastructure has developed, which, however, cannot be compared with the package tourism on Phuket, Samui, etc., it is almost exclusively individual tourism. In addition to great Thai restaurants, there is a large selection of typical street food. There are also a number of other restaurants, often run by expats, who leave nothing to be desired. Koh Lanta has an expat community; many Scandinavians and Western Europeans live on Koh Lanta all year round. Then there are the “migratory birds” in season. For example, there is also an international and a Swedish school on Koh Lanta.

 

The following applies to the west coast of the island: the further south, the quieter it is. The north (Saladan and Long Beach) can be quite lively during the peak season (Christmas and New Year) but it doesn't compare to Phuket etc at this time. The further south you drive, the quieter it gets. In the very south you will also find beaches where you are relatively alone.

What can you do besides diving? There is a lot to do when it comes to nature. In the south of the island there is a national park with a beautiful, developed hiking trail (approx. 1.5-2 hours) through the rainforest with fantastic viewpoints on the south end of the island. There are some waterfalls (the falls aren't spectacular in the dry/high season) but the trails to get there are very nice. There are caves to explore, notably Mae Kaeow Cave at Klong Nin (guided tours).  There is a hiking trail through the mangroves on the east side that is worthwhile). A detour to Old Town and the Sea Gypsies is also worthwhile.

There are a few gyms, notably Luke's Gym on Elephant Road and several Muay Thai schools. Furthermore, cooking courses, yoga, etc.

 

The medical care is good, there are numerous "clinics"; geared towards western tourists and there are two dental practices and a hospital. The closest hospitals that meet Western standards are in Trang and Krabi.  The north/south main traffic artery is currently being expanded, some sections are already finished. The internet connection, be it mobile or cable, is very good; most hotels are connected via fiber optics. There are also co-working locations with excellent connections. Free Wifi is available in almost all bars, restaurants and hotels.

The two main routes of arrival are via Krabi and Phuket airports. The transfer from Krabi takes about 2-2.5 hours. From Phuket there are two options: either by minivan (about 5 hours) or by ferry (about 3 hours, speedboat). The transfer from HKT (van) and KBV is consistently organized reliably by the   accommodations.

bottom of page

Anreise

Flug: nächster Flughfafen ist Krabi (KBV). Krabi wird täglich mehrmals von verschiedenen Airlines von Bangkok aus angeflogen, Flugzeit ca 1:20, Transfer nach Koh Lanta ca. 2-2,5 Stunden jeh nach Lage der Unterkunft. Internationale Verbindungen nach Krabi wurden während der Pandemie eingestellt, kommen aber langsam wieder.​ Eine andere Möglichkeit ist über Phuket (HKT) anzureisen. Der Transfer mit Minivan dauert ca. 5 Stunden, alternativ mit dem Speedboat über PhiPhi (ca. 3 Stunden). Sämtliche Transfers werden auf Wunsch von den Unterkünften oder von uns arrangiert.

Internet

Die Internet Abdeckung in Thailand ist sehr gut, sowohl über Mobilfunk als auch über Glasfaser. Wir empfehlen den Kauf einer Thai SIM bei Ankunft, diese sind sehr preiswert.

Unterkunft

Von Budget bis Luxus findet sich alles, wir empfehlen folgende Unterkünfte. Sprechen Sie uns an, wir helfen Ihnen. Unsere Auswahl:

Hotels:

Isara

Laguna Beach

Pearl Beach

Chada

Hostel:

Bubu Lanta

Appartments:

Villa Lila

Mango Houses

Koh Lanta

Koh Lanta liegt in der Andamanen See. Die Insel gilt zu Recht als eine der schönsten Thailands. Koh Lanta besteht aus zwei Inseln (Koh Lanta Noi und Koh Lanta Yai) welche seit einigen Jahren über eine Brücke verbunden sind (vorher Fährverbindung). Lanta Noi ist relativ dünn besiedelt und hat wenig touristische Infrastruktur; wenn von Koh Lanta die Rede ist dann ist meistens Koh Lanta Yai gemeint.

Die Insel ist ca 21,5 km lang und ca 5,5 km breit. Die Einwohnerzahl schwankt um die 25.000 je, nach Saison. Die Westseite der Insel, wo sich auch die meiste touristische Infrastruktur befindet ist gekennzeichnet durch traumhafte Strände die zu recht als mit die schönsten Thailands gelten.

 

Auf der Ostseite der Insel sind Mangroven Sümpfe und das Dorf „Old Town“, ursprünglich von Chinesischen Händlern gegründet, es liegt an einer alten Seehandelsroute. Im Süden der Insel gibt es auch eine Sea Gypsy Community der Chao Ley. Koh Lanta ist ein kleiner religiöser Schmelztiegel, Buddhismus, Islam, Thai-Chinese und Chao Ley existieren friedlich miteinander.

 

In den letzten 20 Jahren hat sich eine sehr gute touristische Infrastruktur entwickelt die jedoch mit dem Pauschaltourismus auf Phuket, Samui usw. nicht vergleichbar ist, es ist fast ausschließlich Individual Tourismus. Es gibt neben tollen Thailändischen Restaurants eine große Auswahl an typischem Streetfood. Es gibt auch eine ganze Reihe anderer Restaurants, oft geführt von Expats, die keinen Wunsch offen lassen. Koh Lanta hat eine Expat Community; viele Skandinavier und Westeuropäer Leben das ganze Jahr auf Koh Lanta. Dazu kommen die „Zugvögel“ in der Saison. So gibt es auf Koh Lanta zum Beispiel auch eine Internationale und eine Schwedische Schule.

 

Für die Westküste der Insel gilt: jeh weiter südlich, umso so ruhiger. Im Norden (Saladan und Long Beach) kann es zur Peak Season (Weihnachten und Neujahr) recht lebhaft sein, es ist jedoch nicht vergleichbar mit Phuket usw um diese Zeit. Je weiter man südlich fährt, um so ruhiger wird es. Ganz im Süden findet man auch dann Strände wo man relativ alleine ist.

Was kann man außer Tauchen tun? Es gibt gerade was Natur angeht einiges zu unternehmen. Im Süden der Insel gibt es einen Nationalpark mit einem schönen, ausgebauten Wanderpfad (ca 1,5-2 Stunden) durch den Regenwald mit traumhaften Viewpoints auf das Südende der Insel. Es gibt einige Wasserfälle (die Wasserfälle sind in der Trockenzeit/Hauptsaison) nicht spektakulär aber die Wege dorthin sind sehr schön. Es gibt Höhlen die man erkunden kann, hervorzuheben ist die Mae Kaeow Cave bei Klong Nin (geführte Touren).  Auf der Ostseite gibt es einen Wanderweg durch die Mangroven der sich lohnt). Auch ein Abstecher nach Old Town und zu den Sea Gypsies ist lohnenswert.

Es gibt einige Gyms, hervorzuheben ist Luke’s Gym an der Elephant Road und mehrere Muay Thai Schulen. Des weiteren Koch kurse, Yoga, usw.

 

Die Ärztliche Versorgung ist gut, es gibt zahlreiche „Clinics“ die auf westliche Touristen eingestellt sind und es gibt zwei Zahnarzt Praxen und ein Krankenhaus. Die nächsten Kliniken, die westlichen Standards entsprechen sind in Trang und Krabi.  Die Nord/Süd Hauptverkehrsader wird gerade ausgebaut, einige Abschnitte sind schon fertig. Die Internetanbindung, sei es Mobilfunk oder Kabel ist sehr gut; die meisten Hotels sind über Glasfaser angebunden. Außerdem gibt es CoWorking Locations mit ausgezeichneter Anbindung. Free Wifi gibt es in fast allen Bars, Restaurants und Hotels.

Die zwei Hauptanreisewege sind über die Flughäfen Krabi und Phuket. Der Transfer von Krabi dauert ca 2-2,5 Stunden. Von Phuket aus gibt es zwei Möglichkeiten: entweder Minivan (ca 5 Std) oder mit der Fähre (ca 3std, Speedboat). Der Transfer aus HKT (Van) und KBV wird durchweg von den  Unterkünften zuverlässig organisiert.